Dress Alterations

On Friday I brought my wedding dress into Sunshine Alterations, a family-owned tailor’s shop. The woman who greeted me and helped me into my dress was a sassy curly-haired lady in a leopard print button-up–my kind of lady.

She laced me up and had me step in front of the mirror. The dress I bought is 4 sizes too big because I bought a sample dress right off the rack. So the seamstress will have to take off a few inches off the sides from the bust all the way down below the hips–its a mermaid silhouette.

We talked a little about the bustle, but we will wait to finalize that during a later fitting. Because there is beading and lace around the bottom of the scalloped style train, the seamstress and recommended a pick-up bustle so that the detail would show. I prefer the French style bustle, but I will most likely go with the recommendation of the seamstress.

So far I have had great experiences at Absolute Haven Bridal and Sunshine Alterations. I’m so glad found these little gems shops that are family owned businesses. They both are forgiving of budgetary restraints, friendly, and treat their customers like humans and not just another consumer, or number to count up.

Leave a Reply

