Food & Lodging

I met my 2 planning goals this week, but I’m behind on another project I started last week.

Good news first. I have booked a caterer and blocked off some rooms at a hotel for travelers!

On Tuesday I called some hotels near Holy Cross. To start I have blocked off 10 rooms at Best Western, if we need more rooms we can increase that a little later. The rate is $89 per night under the Merrell-Brenner Wedding Block (May 17-May 19). This hotel is located right on the beach and only 3.5 miles from the church! I’ll include contact information under the “Wedding Information” tab of the blog. Reserve no later than May 3rd!!

Over the past couple of weeks I have been researching and talking with different caterers in Ormond and Daytona. This part is the most stressful because food is such a large expense. We chose to go with a company called Carefree Catering. Daniel and I did a phone consultation with them today to pick the following menu:

Appetizers:

  • Mini Chicken Egg Rolls 
  •  Vegetable stuffed Mushrooms
  • Bruschetta

Entrées:

  • Homestyle Chicken Marsala with mushrooms
  • Baked Salmon with Lemon Dill Crème

Sides:

  • Wild mushroom rice pilaf
  • Green beans with slivered almonds

The meal also will have a garden salad, warm rolls, and water, tea, and coffee. Kids will be served chicken fingers and macaroni!  

Now for the bad news: I am so behind on my Save the Dates because of the special wedding postage I ordered from the post office is taking FOREVER to get here (the “forever” in forever stamp is just the length of time it takes the USPS to process and deliver mail). So this means I will be sending out my invitations nearly on top of the Save the Dates. Oh well!

Leave a Reply

